The Roundup -

Primary Election Held in North Dakota


The top three vote getters in the McKenzie County commissioners race for the primary election on June 14 were Gene Veeder with 1,121 votes, Richard Cayko with 913 and Douglas Nordby with 875 votes.

Thomas McCabe finished fourth with 733 votes.

In Alexander’s mayor race, Jeff Whitehurst received 39 votes compared to Jerry Hatter’s 27 and Kenneth Willcox with 17. Top council candidates Richard Modine and Terrille Jacobson each received 59 votes.

The top three candidates for Watford City council were Kenny Liebel with 368, Matthew Beard with 243 and Bethany Mulder Devlin with 209. Charles “Chas” Neff Jr. was fourth with 192.

Selected to the Alexander School Board were Darcy Delaney with 104 votes, Tim Nelson with 103 and Jeremy Heen with 99. Winning election for McKenzie County District 1 were Dawn Maki, Heather Wisness, Virginia Ceynar and Bradley Sanford.

Jason Rau and Jessica Cayko won election for the Yellowstone School District #14.

In the statewide election for governor, Doug Burgum won the Republican election with 59 percent of the vote compared to Wayne Stenehjem’s 38 percent. Burgum’s running mate is Watford City Mayor Brent Sanford.

Marvin Nelson ran unopposed for governor on the Democrats’ ticket.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 04/22/2019 09:52