The Roundup -

Watford City FFA Members Compete at District Leadership


October 17, 2018 | View PDF

Pictured are front (from left to right): Dakota Wollan, Brenna Johnston, Karsen Kling, Dede Tepse, Alex Cook and Madison Spacher. Middle: (from left to right) Shayla Rolla, Jake Leppell, Isabell Boekelman, Gracie Dahl, Kell Helmuth, Cauy Hartel, Izaak Boekelman, Tyler Erickson, Kiaran Olson, Kanyon Tschetter, Miranda Voegele and Jenna Mandler. Back: (from left to right): Neil Dahl, Caleb Boothe, Braeden Farnsworth, Brandon Rorex, Connor Cross, Laney Hartel, Alexis Davis, Henry Florida, Nick Brunelle, Ismael Carrillo, Alex Lundberg, Kristen Clark, Alician Garcia and Ian Lewis.

The Watford City FFA Chapter, along with nine other chapters from northwest North Dakota, recently held its annual District Leadership Conference in Stanley. Watford City was well represented with 33 of its members attending along with advisors, Miss Hawbaker and Mr. Wisness. Watford City placed 4th in Chapter-of-the-day points, behind Ray, Stanley and Tioga. The Parliamentary Procedure team, consisting of our chapter officers received a Gold team award. Members were required to perform opening and closing ceremonies and demonstrate 10 abilities in parliamentary law. This is the most competitive event at the conference. Receiving Gold individual awards were vice president Cauy Hartel, reporter Isabell Boekelman and sentinel Jake Leppell. Receiving a Silver individual award were president Gracie Dahl, secretary Kell Helmuth and treasurer Shayla Rolla. The team did very well demonstrating their knowledge of Parliamentary law.

The Chapter competed in all of the public speaking events. Ian Lewis earned second place in the Extemporaneous Public Speaking Event. In Demonstration, Alexis Davis received 3rd place in Demonstration. Alician Garcia placed 3rd in Memorized Public Speaking. Dede Tepse was our creed winner this year and earned silver. All of the speakers represented our chapter well and we even had Henry Florida entertain everyone in talent.

The freshmen did an outstanding job as the Greenhand Quiz team won first place and earned gold. Individually, Ismael Carrillo, Karson Kling, Kanyon Tschetter, Izaak Boekelman, and Kristen Clark all earned gold, while Tyler Erickson earned a silver. The Chapter Quiz team received a silver team award. In the individual results, Connor Cross received Gold, while Isabell Boekelman, Shayla Rolla, Laney Hartel, and Gabriella Kaufman each received a Silver award.

The Watford City FFA Chapter was again the sponsoring chapter in Greenhand Parliamentary Procedure. In this event, 23 teams consisting of first-year members demonstrated opening ceremonies, a main motion, amendment, point of order, division and discussion. Watforrd City was well-represented as we had a gold, silver and bronze team. Receiving gold individually were Kiaran Olson, Dede Tepse, Madison Spacher, Neil Dahl, and Ismael Carrillo. Silver officers included Caleb Boothe, Dakota Wollan, Karsen Kling, Brandon Rorex, Tyler Erickson, Kristen Clark, Jenna Mandler, and Brenna Johnston. Receiving bronze were Alex Lundberg, Kanyon Tschetter, Izaak Boekelman, Braedon Farnsworth and Alician Garcia.

Members attending the District Leadership Conference had a lot of fun. It was an excellent opportunity for them to develop their leadership skills.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019