The Roundup -

Anglers, Boat Owners Need Current Licenses


Anglers and boat owners are reminded to review their licenses for the 2014 fishing and boating season.

Anglers must have a 2014-2015 fishing license. Fishing licenses can be purchased online at the Game and Fish Department website, A new state law requires residents age 18 or older to prove residency on the application by submitting a valid North Dakota driver's license number or a North Dakota nondriver photo identification number.

The 2013 state legislature established new fees for several licenses, including resident individual fishing ($16), resident husband and wife ($22) and combination ($50). The combination license includes fishing, general game and habitat, small game and furbearer.

Boat owners are reminded that 2014 is the first year of a new three-year registration period. The new boat registration cycle runs through Dec. 31, 2016.

The price to register motorboats under 16 feet in length, and all canoes, is $18, motorboats from 16 feet to less than 20 feet in length $36, and motorboats at least 20 feet in length $45.

Renewal notices were mailed to boat owners last December. Those who did not receive a renewal notice should contact the Game and Fish Department at 701-328-6335, or email [email protected] Many renewals were returned because some owners who moved within the last three years did not notify the department with their new address.

Boat registrations can be renewed online at the department's website, by clicking the online services link, and "watercraft registration and renewals" under the watercraft heading.

Also, anyone buying a new or used watercraft can register online and generate a 10-day temporary permit that is valid until the registration is processed.

The North Dakota Game and Fish Department is self-funded and only receives revenue from license sales and federal funds.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019