The Roundup -

Staffanson, Hinebauch Win Primary Republican Elections


Scott Staffanson and Steve Hinebauch were the big winners during primary election night as far as Richland County is concerned.

Staffanson, running for re-election in District 35, won the Republican primary with 1,127 votes. Challenger Joel Krautter received 749 votes. Staffanson will face Democrat Chris Trumpower in the general election.

In the State Senate District 18 Republican primary, Steve Hinebauch received 2,302 votes compared to former Sidney mayor Bret Smelser’s 1,952 votes. Casey Brock received 246 votes.

Other winners in the primary for Richland County included Shane Gorder with 1,723 votes for commissioner and Janice Klempel with 1,719 votes for clerk of District Court.

At a state-wide level, voters backed Bernie Sanders over Hillary Clinton in the Democratic presidential race 48-47 percent. Donald Trump easily won on the Republican side with 74 percent of the vote.

Advancing in the governor race were incumbent Steve Bullock with 92 percent for Democrats and Greg Gianforte with 77 percent for Republicans.

The general election is scheduled for Nov. 8.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019