Mid-Rivers Announces 2024 Expanded Scholarship Awards

Mid-Rivers Communications is pleased to announce the award of 76 scholarships to students from the Cooperative’s service area, an increase of 40 scholarships over the original 36 planned. Last fall, the Cooperative announced the availability of 30 Higher Education Scholarships of $2,000 each, and 6 Dawson Community College/Miles Community College Scholarships of $2,500 each. However, following a review of the applicants and funds available for scholarships, the Mid-Rivers Board of Trustees voted to expand the awards to include scholarships for every eligible applicant, and to increase the award amounts to the top applicants in each category.

A $3,500 Dawson Community College/Miles Community College Scholarship has been awarded to: Taylor Mury and Grace Gackle, Circle; Kaitlyn Thoeny, Brockway; Laney Baker, Cohagen; Ryan Kelly, Miles City; Alexis Newton, Glendive.

A $3,000 Mid-Rivers Higher Education Scholarship has been awarded to: Erin Backes and John Isaacs, Miles City; Abby Barnick, Ramey Coon, and Anna Hull, Glendive; Abby Begger, Wibaux; Michael Bergin, Melstone; Drew Ellingson, Hailey Holzworth, Hannah Karren, Garrett Larson, Cooper McNally, Abigail Schilling, Hudson Severson, Ireland Vandall and Hannah Vandall, Sidney; Elizabeth Fulbright, Julia Kunau, and Lauren Plagenz, Lewistown; Kaytlynn Gaub, Jaren Lingle and Jessica Stark, Baker; Kendall Kittelmann, Ekalaka; Brooke Murnion and Sarah Murnion, Jordan; Clay Pendergrass, Roy; Lauren Prevost, Lambert; Brooke Reuter and Cade Tombre, Savage; Emalee Vickers, Roundup.

A $1,000 Mid-Rivers Scholarship has been awarded to: Hunter Bailey and Mallory Varner, Baker; Raiden Bialorucki, Corinne Canen, Tucker Knoll, Hunter Moos, Abigail Stinnett and Teagan Wahl, Glendive; Peyton Bollinger, Mia McWilliams, Jason Murnion and Jaelin Twitchell, Jordan; Samuel Braden, Wibaux; Alexis Breidenbach, Josie Dubbs, Caden Epperson, Kieran Netburn, Maxxton Ray, Carter Ricks, Allie Uecker and Megan Vaughn, Lewistown; Kailey Brimmer, Jesse Isaacs and Heidi Phalen, Miles City; Amber Cripps, Grass Range; Nicole Dyer, Terry; Gracelyn Gonsioroski, Brockton; Krystan Hafla, Cohagen; Aren Larson, Sidney; Blake Lobdell, Circle; Savannah Manuel and Nathan Turnbow Fairview; Codi Nagle, Lindsay; Tylee Rieger, Ismay; Josie Shaw, Deserae Toombs and Abbey Webber, Roundup; Luke Spencer, Melstone; Whitney Thielen and Wyatt Thielen, Plevna.

In addition to the competitive awards, Mid-Rivers will draw for 15 additional $1,000 scholarships at the Cooperative’s Annual Meeting on May 29, 2024, at the Fallon County Fairgrounds, Baker.

To qualify for the scholarship drawing, the student must: attend the Annual Meeting with a parent or guardian who is a Cooperative Member (requires a signed Membership Application that has been approved by the Board of Trustees and active local telephone or Internet service from Mid-Rivers); be enrolled to attend a higher education institution in the fall of 2024; provide PROOF of full-time enrollment; pre-register for the drawing prior to the start of the meeting using the online registration form located on the Mid-Rivers website at http://www.midrivers.com; check in at the Scholarship Registration table at the Annual Meeting and be present during the business meeting when the drawing takes place.

Registration for the meeting will begin at 10 a.m. and close at the start of the business meeting at 11 a.m. The scholarship recipients will be drawn at random from the list of eligible students in attendance at the meeting.

“Mid-Rivers is proud to show our commitment to the people we serve, and the Mid-Rivers Higher Education Scholarship Program really makes an impact,” stated General Manager/CEO Michael Candelaria. “The $166,000 in scholarships this year is the largest direct contribution the Cooperative has ever made to area youth, allowing us to positively impact 91 students and member families from Eastern and Central Montana.”


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 05/23/2024 15:30