The Roundup -

North Dakota Petroleum Council's Annual Meeting Held In The Heart Of Oil Country


September 25, 2019 | View PDF

The North Dakota Petroleum Council held its 38th annual meeting at the Rough Rider Center in Watford City, September 17, 18, and 19, to elect its officers and conduct the general business of the organization. The annual meeting is held in a different location every year, and this year it was held right in the heart of oil country. 

The meeting brought oil and gas professionals/experts together to hear from speakers, including government officials, industry experts, and community leaders, on the latest issues and developments in the oil and gas industry. The Annual Meeting also honored members for achievements and service to the oil and gas industry.

The North Dakota Petroleum Council presented awards at the meeting - Excellence in Safety Award, Outstanding Public Service Award, Community Engagement Award, Environmental Stewardship Award, and an advocate for the oil and gas industry was also inducted into the North Dakota Petroleum Council’s Hall of Fame.  

Fortis Energy Services won the Excellence in Safety Award because of its iScout Safety Software, which is a program that allows users to upload observations about an incident, which can instantly be reviewed. This software program has given Fortis Energy Services the ability to reduce its recordable incident rate by 75%!

The Hess Corporation was awarded the Community Engagement Award. This was awarded for the corporation’s investment of more than $1,000,000 in educational outreach in Hess Toy Truck, STEM education kits for elementary schools across North Dakota, and the corporation also sponsored an emergency response program for Beulah high school students.

An advocator for North Dakota business policies, North Dakota State Senator Jessica Unruh, was awarded the Outstanding Public Service Award. Unruh was the main sponsor of the pore space bill (a critical bill that clarified issues relating to the petroleum industry) and a bill that created a standalone Department of Environmental Quality (returned mineral rights to thousands of acres of private landowners living along Lake Sakakawea). 

Savage Services received the Environmental Stewardship Award. Savage Services has demonstrated environmental stewardship through truck transportation, rail, in-plant operations and maintenance, and construction and project management. The company moves and manages mission-critical materials. 

President of Inland Oil and Gas, Lynn Moser, who has been a significant advocate for North Dakota’s oil and gas industry for 20 years, was inducted into the North Dakota Petroleum Council’s Hall of Fame. Moser is known for her heavy involvement in the oil and gas industry - she often works as a volunteer and testifies on bills at the state legislature relating to the petroleum industry. 


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021