The Roundup -

Two Montana Teachers Chosen As National Winners For Presidential Science And Math Teaching Award


Two Montana school teachers have been selected as national award winners for the prestigious Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) the nation’s highest honor for U.S. mathematics and science teachers in grades 7 through 12.

A committee of Montana science and math teachers selected four teachers from a pool of 10 applicants statewide. From these four finalists, a national panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators selected two to be national award winners.

The most recent national award winners from Montana are:

• Dan Bartsch, Billings Senior High School

• David McDonald, Sidney High School

PAEMST finalists are true leaders in education, using highly innovative approaches and technology in their classroom teaching. Nominees for the award must complete a rigorous application process that incorporates video footage of classroom lessons along with substantial written documentation of impacts on student achievement.

Each year, the national panel selects up to 108 teachers to receive Presidential Awards, including teachers from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. territories, and the schools operated in the United States and overseas by the Department of Defense Education Agency.

Teachers who are selected as Presidential Awardees receive a $10,000 award, a Presidential citation, and a trip to Washington, D.C. for a series of recognition events, information exchange programs, and an awards ceremony.

Nationally, the awards program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House.

In Montana, the state recognition program is sponsored and administered by the Montana Professional Teaching Foundation in association with the Montana Association of Presidential Awardees.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023